Bangkok Hypnosis

SCRATCHING HOGS BY MILTON ERICKSON

Posted by Sun on July 22, 2011

One summer I sold books to pay my way through college. I walked into a farmyard about five o’clock, interviewed the farmer about buying books, and he said, “Young fellow, 1 don’t read anything. I don’t need to read anything. I’m just interested in my hogs.” “While you’re busy feeding the hogs, do you mind if I stand and talk to you?”

I asked. He said, “No, talk away, young fellow, it won’t do you a bit of good. I’m not going to pay attention to you; I am busy feeding the hogs.” And so I talked about my books. Being a farm boy, I thoughtlessly picked up a pair of shingles lying on the ground and started scratching the hogs’ backs as I was talking.

The farmer looked over, stopped, and said, “Anybody knows how to scratch a hog’s back, the way hogs like it, is somebody I want to know. How about having supper with me tonight and you can sleep overnight with no charge and I will buy your books. You like hogs. You know how to scratch ’em the way they liked to be scratched.”

by Milton Erickson

One Response to “SCRATCHING HOGS BY MILTON ERICKSON”

  1. […] realize. This immediately made me remember a story told by NLP master Milton Erickson (copied from here): One summer I sold books to pay my way through college. I walked into a farmyard about five […]

Leave a Reply

 
